Skip to content
June 6, 2011 / MMasing

Lets become Lawyers.

Hello Everybody,
 
So, like I said in my last post. The line between creativity and insanity is rather tiny.
Though.. what is insanity? How would you describe insanity? Well.. I decided to ask Wikipedia, yet again.
With this result:
 
“Insanity, craziness or madness is a spectrum of behaviors characterized by certain abnormal mental or behavioral patterns.”
 And now we all know what insanity is! Wow, thanks a lot Wikipedia..
You just won the fridge! But no, now without the joking.
We still don’t know do we?
So lets find it out.. As we know now, insanity has a few synonyms:
craziness and madness.
Though I’m sure there are way more than only these two.
And it is… a summary of different behaviors
that you can differentiate by mental and behavioral patterns.
Which makes kinda sence because we are talking about behaviors after all.
So we can tell the difference in behaviors by watching the behavioral
patterns. Ok, still with me now? Good.
Next stop then:
 
“In modern usage insanity is most commonly encountered as an informal unscientific term denoting mental instability, or in the narrow legal context of the insanity defence.”
 
Out of that we now know:
That there is a modern sort of insanity, think we knew that already though.. but ok, thanks for the information after all.
Next thing we know now is the term for insanity now is: mental instability.
Though with “instability” you got me thinking about things that are about to explode.
But sure, go ahead, use it on brains. No problem at all, or at least not for me.
And then you have the insanity defence. I got a picture with that in my head, but lets see what the description of that is..
 
“The insanity defence is a possible defence by excuse by which defendants argue that they should not be held criminally liable for breaking the law because they were legally insane at the time of the crime.”
 
Now that sounds funny! You are actually saying: “But please, I am legally insane!”
Ok, you will never hear me say that.. But ok, people obviously are willing to say that they were insane.
And I have to admit, most of them really seem insane.
But not only at the time of the crime but just all the way through.
Though I have to ask you this: if people beg to be insane, what is wrong with insanity, craziness or madness? And.. do we really want to be insane if people like that beg to be seen as insane?
Because im backing out there, the word is just degrading then isn’t it?
Wasn’t it much more fun to be called insane and actually be insane, instead of begging to be insane while not being insane at all? So actually… being insane is kinda.. low.
Not if you really are insane, because that is actually cool.
But trying to be seen as insane.. that is just sad. Then you just are a bit sad.
Which means that after all I don’t really wanna know what insanity is precisely.
Because if I am insane I should be really proud of it!
And if that means that creative people are insane, or that there is a fine line between creativity and insanity? I couldn’t tell you. Maybe this link could help you out then:
http://www.livescience.com/9330-fine-line-revealed-creativity-insanity.html
If you aren’t a reader (congratulations that you got this far in my blog then, but anyway) then,
if you still wanna know.. You could maybe ask a creative person if he thinks he is?
And for the creative people out there: I’d be proud! So you better be that for me.
 
And, I don’t know if you just got the same idea.
But isn’t it the best job in the world to decide who is “legally insane”?
You know what, maybe we should take a look at those law studies,
become judges.. work in court.
Or.. no, wait a second… Lets become lawyers!
That is even better, let’s try to convince the judge that your client is insane.
 
Hmm, is there a lack of lawyers now?
4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anders J / Jun 6 2011 2:31 pm

    I’m not sure if you could call me creative, but i’ll give it a try anyway
    no, i am not insane, but things may be come so creative that some/most people would look at it as insanity, but that’s mostly because they can’t see the positive side of randomness, they can’t understand it… so i guess that makes them uncreative, doesn’t mean i’m insane, just that my ideas may become distant from the first connection. and that brings me on another thought… creativity can be used voulentarely, but you can’t decide wether to be insane or not, that is something relatively uncontrollble. so if you are insanely creative, you aren’t insane, just creative.
    Can’t wait for next post 🙂

    Sincerly a regular reader

    • mmasing / Jun 6 2011 4:31 pm

      Hey again,
      Nice to know that you think you aren’t insane.
      And even better that you aren’t trying to look insane 😛
      But, indeed, things out of the ordinary could be called “insane”. Tho its always the question what we call “ordinary” or.. to go trowing with synonims again: “normal”.
      So.. maybe you should look at what we call “normal” to be sure what we can call “insane”, see?
      Then… next question would be: Is creativity to be called “ordinary” or “normal”?
      And when are you able to call yourself creative? There must be like.. some sort of test for creativity, right?
      Or is there a test for normality? Tho I think you must need both to even get a clear answer to these questions.
      And insanity can be controllable. If you can be “legally insane” at the time of a crime, as claimed to be possible if you look into the rules that are set in court.
      That should mean that you actually are rather insane but just slipped at that one little time during the crime.. but controll it now again. Which means.. controllable, or they want us to believe it is. And you dont have to be insane if you are creative, not at all.
      Want any proof? Look at yourself then. You said you were kinda creative (denying creativity is trying to not admit that you are.. so you are) and you aren’t insane.
      Enough proof? Ok, maybe it isn’t, but i tried :P.
      Thanks for your comment again and the next post…. is on his way :).
      Greetz, MMasing.

  2. Miss / Jun 6 2011 8:21 pm

    Hey Sweetie!

    Oh, sorry, forgot..

    Hey, stranger! 😛

    I know I’m insane, and I know I’m creative: I call it being me..

    Does that count?

    Greetings, and have fun 😀

    • mmasing / Jun 7 2011 5:08 am

      Hey Miss,
      I knew you were insane, and I knew you were creative.
      And I knew that you are you.
      Tho I tend to call you “you” dont I?
      And if that counts? Yes it does.
      Because you are proud of being yourself.
      And that is one of the most important things in this world.
      Thanks for your comment, and I think fun won’t be a problem. 😀
      Greetz, MMasing.

Leave a Reply

