Skip to content
March 22, 2012 / MMasing

Without Feelings no Music…

Hello Everybody,
 
So I’m going to try to keep it up: 1 song a week. I know right, sounds like a lot, though my second song is online since just now. But don’t you worry. I won’t leave this blog alone any time soon. I’ll just have to find a way around work, but I’m sure I’ll manage. Next post on here won’t be about a video, since it might not be the thing you are interested in. But for the ones who are interested I’ll post a link on here every once in a while.
 
Like now.. I uploaded Drops of Jupiter (you can find the link below).
The song seems so innocent and sweet but behind the lyrics actually lies something way deeper.
 
Pat Monahan, the lead singer of Train, wrote this song shortly after the death of his mother.
During his depression, Pat had a dream about his mother.
The words “In the Atmosphere” were engraved into his mind and he wrote a song about it.
Overall, he wrote the song to help remind him that no one is really ever gone.
They are just waiting for you up in the sky, in heaven. 
 
You can also look at it as the conversation he had with his mother if you look closer into the lyrics:
Can you imagine no love, pride, deep-fried chicken
Your best friend always sticking up for you
Even when I know you’re wrong?

Can you imagine no first dance, freeze-dried romance
Five-hour phone conversation
The best soy latte that you ever had, and me?  

As it shows.. without emotions and feelings music wouldn’t nearly be what it is today…
For a link directly to YouTube: click here!
Leave a Reply

