Skip to content
March 9, 2013 / MMasing

Path, Rocks, Stones.

Hello Everyone,

I thought I’d let you in on some tips from my point of few about ice.
This due to the huge amounts of ice on the roads and paths that I have to cross every day yet again… Survival tips weren’t a strange thing to look for.

 

1. Know your path.
It might sound stupid bit it’s one of the most important things you need to know in the winter times.. When snow falls all the roads and paths will slowly vanish in the landscape. You knowing your paths at this point, will hopefully find your right way without stepping on rocks and breaking ankles.

 

2. Stick to your path.
Stupid and simple as well, but if you Winter-walkingdon’t.. and in the meanwhile the snow just started to form some sort of visible path of some strength.. You might find yourself to your knees in the snow. The snow on the path is suppressed all this time so will not crumble under your feet. So stick to your path, if you please.

 

3. Know your rocks.
Know your rocks, indeed. Not as in the big rocks.. more as in the small once that they put on the ice\snowy paths so you won’t end up on the ground. It is a brilliant solution, I have to admit. But these little stones always end up to be below the ice, meaning you do see them.. but you will end up on the ground anyhow. Know your rocks and walk where you can.

 

4. Walk.. don’t run.
If you need to run, just don’t.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rmactsc / Mar 9 2013 6:19 pm

    Excellent advice. I can however think of a few things that would make me rethink number 4 however 🙂

    • MMasing / Mar 9 2013 8:39 pm

      Hi,
      And thank you :).
      I know.. but in the end maybe it’s better not to run.
      Just so you know, I’ve tried.. didn’t work out well xD.
      Ended up with me on the ground and my bus driving away before my eyes.
      If your goal is to end up on the ground though, and your bus driving away before your eyes: Give it a go! 😛
      Thanks for replying, glad you liked my post.
      Greetz, MMasing.

Leave a Reply

